week 7 CSA 2014

week 7

week 7

 

For week 7 my daughter and I once again went to see my dad and pick up the vegs. We got quite a bounty as usual. We got more corn, lettuce, broccoli, cukes, arugula, onions, green pepper, eggplant (many different varieties), zucchini, summer squash, blueberries, and tomatoes. We got two choices from the choice table and I got some basil and my dad got some kale.

 

 

 

Papa and Charlotte picking up our vegs

Papa and Charlotte picking up our vegs

 

 

My daughter is a  rather particular child and knows what she wants and doesn’t want even though she’s only 15 months old. What she wants all the time is me and what she doesn’t want is OTHER PEOPLE. She got the stranger danger thing early and BAD and is only sort of coming out of it now. Even though she seems my dad pretty much weekly she is still unsure of what to think about him. She allowed him to hold her hand while her other hand was holding me while we were practicing walking at their house and when we went to pick up the vegs she once again was holding onto both of us. Big progess. Then she got distracted by the dog that is there and kept pointing at it (pointing is fun!) and little did she realize for awhile she was no longer holding onto mommy! Big doings!

 

 

 

 

 

lemon blueberry loaf round 2

lemon blueberry loaf round 2

 

 

 

After we divvied up the vegs my dad said we could take all of this week’s blueberries as they had gone blueberry picking on their friend’s property and had boatloads of blueberries. So now we had all the blueberries which meant MORE LEMON BLUEBERRY LOAF!!! YUM!

 

 

 

 

 

Moroccan Harira

Moroccan Harira

 

Since the week before I pissed myself off not planning ahead I went to the farm stand with a clear picture in my mind of what I wanted to make that week and after we saw what was in the box I picked up another regular eggplant and also another onion. With the eggplant I made a Moroccan dish called Harira. Recipe once again from Isa Does It. I also chopped up some of the summer squash we got and threw that in.

 

It was pretty good. I don’t know anything about Harira and had never heard of it before I saw the recipe but it was pretty good. It was a little tomatoey.

 

 

vegan kofta

vegan kofta

 

 

For the weekend I had planned on making another yummy dish from Isa Does It. Vegan kofta!  Kofta are Middle Eastern meat balls. Obviously these had no meat in them and were made with the zucchini from the CSA and chikpeas amongst other things.

It’s such a yummy recipe. The sauce is so creamy and yummy. I served it over rice. Yum yum yum! Im sad all the leftovers are gone.

 

 

 

 

orange "chicken"

orange “chicken”

 

 

With the green beans I made some orange “chicken” with some seitan from my sister in law and her boyfriend’s company No Evil Foods.  Recipe from the same cookbook only I used the seitan I had in my freezer instead of the seitan recipe from the book.

Again yum yum yum.

 

 

 

 

 

We ended the week with several cucumbers, corn, blueberries, zucchini, summer squash, and a little green pepper. We better get on that.

formerly chocolate milk

formerly chocolate milk

 

 

 

On a side note I was dusting and remembered I have this bottle! At one point it had chocolate milk in it back in the day when I still ate dairy.  Now it’s a decoration filled with seashells!

Leave a comment